ADNZ members wow timber awards

ADNZ members wow timber awards add

The NZ Wood Resene Timber Design Awards 2018 finalists were announced last week. Architectural Designers New Zealand was proud to spot that three out of six residential architecture in excellence finalists are professional members of ADNZ.

New Zealand’s only Timber Design award event, the NZ Wood Resene Timber Design Awards allows engineers, architects, architectural designers and builders to showcase innovation using timber.

The three Architectural Designers New Zealand members recognised were Cymon Allfrey of Cymon Allfrey Architects for ‘The Family Bach’, Mitchell Coll of Coll Architecture for ‘Madras Street’ and Will Tatton of Will Tatton Architecture for ‘Wooden Oragami House’.

Mitchell Coll, a past Supreme ADNZ | Resene Architectural Design Award winner, said timber is the new generation of design.

“The more accepted use of mass timber in buildings is driving some cutting-edge innovation and engineering, and it is great to see this represented in these design awards. It’s innovative and most importantly it is sustainable. We are lucky in New Zealand to have access to really fast-growing timbers and when used in the right way we can further reduce the carbon footprint of a build. In my Madras Street project, the use of timber was really important to the warmth of the home, both in a physical sense and a visual. It is a fantastic natural material to work with and I am excited to be a finalist in this year’s awards.”

Architectural Designers New Zealand CEO, Astrid Andersen said it was wonderful to see ADNZ represented in the finals and demonstrates the quality of work being designed by members.

“As an organisation, we are always delighted to see our members in the spotlight. Especially when receiving awards of this calibre. The ways in which timber are being used in design is truly exciting. We love seeing how New Zealand designers are working with this material, giving it a kiwi spin and taking it to new heights. Congratulations to Will, Mitchell and Cymon. We look forward to seeing who takes out the award later in the year.”